Elected Leaders (The Vestry)

2018 Vestry Meetings

The Vestry meets on the third Monday of each month unless otherwise noted.

The 2018 meeting dates are:

Monday, January 15, 2018           Minutes to the Jan Meeting CLICK HERE.
Monday, February 19, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Monday, April 16 , 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018

Officers for 2018

Brent Rosenthal | Senior Warden
Jerry Tuhy | Junior Warden
Eileen Smith | Clerk
Bob Jones | Treasurer
Tim Mack, Esq. | Chancellor

Our current Vestry at St. Matthew’s is listed below. The year after their name is the year during which they will retire from Vestry at the January Annual Meeting.


Roger Allspaugh
Christopher (Chris) Hodge
Valerie Kaiser
Brent Rosenthal


Jerry Tuhy
Adele Ichilian
Tim Mack


Phil Dunnet
David Pinson
Michael Bradley
Janet Page


The Vestry

In the Episcopal Church, our ministry is a shared ministry between clergy and laity, each working according to his or her own gifts and callings to further the ministry of the Body of Christ. The governance of our church is also a shared governance.

This shared governance is fully present at the Parish or local church level. The Rector (Dean) of a Parish (Cathedral) has oversight of the spiritual life of the parish, leading in areas of worship, teaching, faith formation, and other program areas. He also is charged with administering the business of the parish. The Vestry of a parish shares in that spiritual oversight and are sewards of the finances and facilities of the parish. They set and monitor the budget, approve significant expenditures, administer funds, and maintain buildings. The Vestry also works with the Rector on discerning the long-term mission of Christ in their community, communicating regularly about their shared ministry to ensure that it is healthy and faithful.

At St. Matthew’s, our Vestry is comprised of twelve members, four of whom are elected each year for three-year terms. Thus, the membership is constantly rotating, ensuring that all those called to leadership in the parish serve, and that our vision is always as clear as possible and not just the province of a small cadre of people. The Senior Warden chairs Vestry meetings at the invitation of the Dean, and the Vestry is led by an Executive Committee made up of the Dean, Senior Warden, and Junior Warden. They are assisted by the various officers of the Vestry. The Junior Warden oversees property concerns, the Treasurer manages finances, and the Clerk ensures faithful and accurate record keeping. The Treasurer may or may not be an elected member of the Vestry.